Unlearning

It has been an interesting semester in this class. We have learned and done so many things that were completely new to me and it was interesting to explore these new topics and ideas. I know what it means to be a good digital citizen and I can discover new things to use in the classroom. This week we had looked into being an innovative learner and things we can UNlearn about teaching and learning. I think this class alone had helped me to become more innovative when learning. Part of being a innovative learner is to push yourself in new directions and experience new things, which I did plenty of this semester. All that I have learned, I can then reflect on in the classroom.

From Richardson’s “The Unlearning Curve” one thing I have unlearned this semester is that “we know more than our kids, because in many cases, they can now be our teachers as well.” Teachers are not the only sources of information in the classroom. I always thought the teacher knew everything about our topic in the classroom. This also plays a part as being an innovative learner. In Couros’s “The Mindset of an Innovator”, we read “I’m open to and willing to embrace new learning, while continuously asking questions to move forward.” We had learned about the different styles of learning and I noticed that we, as students, learn a lot of information ourselves and sometimes teach new things to others. Methods like inquiry-based learning allow to students to ask their own questions and then they discover the answers for themselves. Through this course I was able to ask my own questions and got to find the answers in new and fun ways.

Along with many other things, one thing Richardson says I still need to unlearn is “the practice that teaches all students at the same pace.” I had always thought that this is how we learned, as a class. Of course there are those gifted/talented students who are better in certain areas but I still thought they were learning the same things I was. Some students excel more than others and we need to keep pushing them forward one by one instead of trying to get everyone in the same place, or the students who are already there might get bored and lost interest quick. This is not an easy task. I am unsure how to go about teaching students who learn at different paces but I think with more learning, or rather unlearning, I can better my skills and teach each student to their fullest learning capabilities.

6 thoughts on “Unlearning

  1. I think the best part about unlearning that we know more than our kids is that it provides for connections. Instead of having a one-way conversation from the educator to the teacher, we can learn both ways. nobody is ever done learning and with technology continuously advancing, I find that the younger generations know more than I do when it comes to these skills. By sharing thoughts and concerns back and forth between both the teachers and the student’s we can stay open minded to new ideas. As instructors, we are there to provide the best experience. This is possible by having connections with our students rather than plugging lectures into their little minds. What do you think led to the thought that teachers know all?

    Like

    1. I agree. So many young people are scolded by the older generation for being so fluent with technology but they end up asking for help anyways. I think our teachers have been the ones always talking, lecturing, and teaching us things we had no idea about that we had to assume they were right. Otherwise, why would someone talk for hours about something they didn’t know? Another things is that we are told from a young age to listen to adults and listen to our teacher because “they know best.” It may be more a cultural thing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree that we as educators can learn from students.

    In regards to teaching students at different learning speeds, do you think it would be difficult? I really don’t think it would be difficult- it would just require some pre-planning on the teachers part. Maybe you separate the class into a few different groups and manage it that way? Just a thought.

    Like

    1. I thought about it being difficult and came to the same realization that it will just take more time in figuring out how to teach my students. I do like your idea on separating the students in to groups.

      Like

Leave a Reply

