Passion-Based Learning

I had read the first article Passion-Based Learning by Ainissa Ramirez. When starting to read this article, I’ll admit I was already starting to space off. She began talking about the core subjects in school and was referring to them as a pipeline. I wasn’t sure where she was going with this but she explained how it is the mission to fill this “pipeline” with so many children that it burst. That was a powerful image to me because I am aspiring to be an educator and this will be my main goal as well. She then started talking about how bringing passion back into learning can help fill this pipeline. I couldn’t help but to be captivated by her writing. She had explained each method of learning and described them to where it actually made sense to me. I really enjoyed “the power of passion” part of her article. It is the responsibility of the teacher to keep your students engaged and focused on the material. This is also why integration of other subject is important. It provides a variety of outlooks on the material. I liked how she talked about a teacher who had inspired so many of his students to learn more about the dull subject of the properties of atoms. I had a similar teacher, who I had talked about in a previous post, Mr. Reed. He taught algebra 1 in high school, which was the lowest level of math he taught in school, which probably wasn’t the most exciting for him to teach. However, each day he came to class as if it was his favorite time of day. He wouldn’t just lecture about the quadratic formula, but would bring a sort of spunk to the subject. I’ll admit that he was a goofy guy, but a great teacher. He definitely brought passion into the subject of math.

The second article I read was 25 Ways to Institute Passion-Based Learning in the Classroom by Saga Briggs. I am one that needs a sort of nudge in the right direction or an example of sort to start my work or whatever it may be. This is why I choose this article. It provided me with examples of how to bring passion into the classroom. I think my biggest concern in going into this field is boring my students to death. I feel less concerned after reading this article. It told me what is essential when creating a passion-based learning classroom. It is important that we don’t ignore our students. By that I mean we need to pay attention to more than just grades or performance. If a student is not engaged by our teachings then of course their performances will be lacking. We need to motivate them and let them take control of their own learning instead of just forcing information at them. A professor once told me that children have a natural desire to learn. It is apart of being young; we have a natural curiosity for everything. Somewhere along the journey of learning, someone crushes this curiosity and it becomes just another subject to the student. This is why passion-based learning is important. It keeps that student excited about learning. I feel these 25 tips will come in handy, I will be sure to save them.

7648249140_569638c0d1_m

Photo CC-By Praveen Kumar

Leave a Reply

